Summer ’11 Update



Credit: the View

I saw Shrek the Musical early this July at the San Diego Civic Theatre in downtown. Overall this production stayed true to the storyline, with a few entertaining additions and a whole repertoire of musical numbers.  The magical world of fairy tales I remembered from my childhood came to life with each character in the cast, including: the 3 pigs, Humpty Dumpty, the Gingerbread Man, and more!  This was a very entertaining show and very family friendly. 

Comic Con San Diego 2011 was another highlight of my summer.  Here you could see countless sci-fi fans, anime enthusiasts, and comic collectors galore.  I’ve been going since I was about 9 years old, making this my 14th Comic Con! Dang, I’m a veteran. Every year Comic Con ceases to amaze me with all the people it attracts as well as all the different companies that come to exhibit there.  My favorite part of the event was the South Park village that they set up outside the convention center.  It had a bunch of activities for everyone to enjoy. Those who couldn’t afford to get a ticket to the convention also had the opportunity to experience a little bit of fun there.

Lastly I attended the midnight showings for the last Harry Potter movie and the Rise of the Planet of the Apes movie.  Both had very good story lines, and I thoroughly enjoyed all the special effects. A good  perk from watching the midnight showing of Harry Potter was that we got special 3D glasses that were molded in the shape of the Harry’s glasses. I’d recommend watching both if you haven’t done so already. 🙂

Stay tuned for more adventures!

~ AJ

2 thoughts on “Summer ’11 Update

    • Yup! The Broadway original came out a while ago, and this year they compiled a cast to tour the country. I’m planning on also watching the Mary Poppins musical here in San Diego this coming Thursday. Stay tuned for my review 🙂 I’ve heard nothing but positive comments about it so far.

Leave a Reply

