Restaurant Week at The Prado (Balboa Park)


It’s been a while since I’ve posted a food review but I think this place is worth blogging about. Restaurant Week in San Diego happened last month and it was an amazing experience for a “foodie” like me. I went to The Prado in Balboa Park with a group of friends and we sat outside since it was a pleasant night. For a $30 dinner,The Prado offered an appetizer, entree, and dessert. I had a tough time choosing between the firecracker squid or the butternut squash soup. In the end, I chose the soup not only for something lighter but because it would warm me up in the brisk winter night. All the entree options also looked great and were equally hard to decide on. They ran out of the pulled pork but the other choices left included the Thai and tofu noodles, beef rib with red wine sauce, and the grilled salmon. I chose to have the beef rib, though I’m not much of a red meat eater. The waiter recommended it and I trusted his judgement. Dessert was a no-brainer, I picked the pumpkin creme brule.

Here begins my food review:
Upon first sitting down, the waiter gave us a snack of toasted flatbread and chipotle dip. There where two kinds of flatbread, one had parmesan cheese while the other had poppy seeds. Both were quite delicious, especially when using the dip (Tip: they offer refills if you ask). The butternut squash soup was prepared like a bisque with a little cream, and blended into a silky smooth texture. I could taste a light nutty flavor in addition to the toasted pine nuts sprinkled on top.

The next course (beef rib with red wine sauce) came with a side of horseradish mashed potatoes and a side of grilled vegetables. Contrary to the name, the beef rib had no bone at all, each bite was tender and juicy. The sweetness of the red wine sauce blended perfectly with the meat. Eating it in conjunction with the zesty horseradish mashed potatoes added another layer of complexity to the flavors. 

Dessert is always my favorite part of dining out and the pumpkin creme brule was to die for. There are certain flavors that evoke the feeling of the season that make them memorable, for example peppermint hot chocolate or egg nog.  This dish did just that with its blend of spices and sweetness. 
Overall I would give this place a 5/5 stars for great tasting food, excellent customer service,  and atmosphere. The location is also plus with it being in the heart of Balboa Park, just a few step away from popular museums and other touristy attractions. 

Thanks for reading! 
-AJ 

Leave a Reply

