Will Run for Chocolate!


Lately, I’ve been running more often than usual. It all started when I signed up for my first run at the Hot Chocolate 15k/5k San Diego inaugural race (March 25th). They had me at the word “chocolate”, I mean who wouldn’t love to participate in an event with loads of Ghirardelli chocolate? They had everything from hot cocoa to fondue, all the while distributing those Ghirardelli chocolate squares I loved so much. I trained a couple weeks in advance for the 5k but nothing could have prepared me for the rush I felt on race day.

With over 7,000 runners, the lot next to PetCo Park was filled with people eagerly waiting to run. My friends and I made it a priority to get there early to park and get pumped for our run, which was scheduled to start at 6:45 AM (way too early for me). Nevertheless, we made it according to plan with time to spare, so we decided to stroll through the area and grab some hot cocoa in the designated “hospitality” tent.

Race time came soon after, and my friends and I were sent dashing down the streets of downtown San Diego. The wind against my face felt exhilarating as I weaved in and out of the crowd, making my way through the sea of runners. With each passing checkpoint, I drew closer to the finish line and I could almost taste the chocolate that was waiting at the end. The toughest trek of the race was the hill marking the halfway point. It seemed to go on forever! Seeing all the runners ahead made me more competitive, even though the real person I was competing against was myself. — An important tip I learned in running in these large events is to not compare yourself with anyone else. In other words, try to beat your PR (personal record) and you’ll succeed.

I crossed the finish just seconds behind one if my friends. We each congratulated one another and then the real celebration began! The Hot Chocolate 15k/5k had a designated tent just for distributing chocolate to the runners, and they were very generous with their portions. Each of us got a tray with rice crispies, apples, bananas, pretzels, marshmallows, and a heap of Ghirardheli chocolate fondue. Who says you can’t have dessert for breakfast? I savored each bite of my food, basking in the chocolate bliss. It was definitely one of the sweetest breakfasts of my life and I would gladly sign up for this run in a heartbeat.

Currently, registration for the 2013 Hot Chocolate 15k/5k San Diego run is active online. Next year’s Goodie Bag will be even better, featuring a stylish and sporty tech hoodie commemorating the event.

Thanks for reading! I’ll be posting more adventures soon. 🙂
– AJ

2 thoughts on “Will Run for Chocolate!

  1. Great entry AJ! 😀 I can’t wait for the Chicago Hot Chocolate! You registered for 2013 SD Hot Chocolate right?

Leave a Reply

