35th Annual LA Chinatown Firecracker 10k


Firecracker 10k bag

“Keep on running! I gotta push through this.” – That’s what goes through my mind at every run.  Events like this always get me pumped to try my best, and the LA Firecracker 10K pushed me to a level I had thought I could never reach. Running in a race is a unique experience that I encourage everyone to try at least once in their lives. It’s exhilarating, inspiring, and most importantly…. FUN! 

image-3

This was my first 10k race. Luckily we had a friend who lived nearby and let us spend the night, so getting to and from the event was a breeze. Race Day was full of energy both from the participants and the crowd. I could feel the anticipation in the air as I joined the rest of the runners in the starting corral. There were several performances and a couple warm up routines (one was hosted by the LA Clippers Cheerleaders) to get everyone pumped up before the race. But the real treat was the lighting of the 100,000 firecrackers! Each row was light simultaneously followed by smoke, sparks, and pops that seemed to go on forever. It was an incredible experience and being towards the front made it that more entertaining. I had to dodge a few firecracker casings that flung into the audience but it was worth it. 

image-1

The course proved to be a real CHALLENGE, complete with twists, dips, and steep inclines. All my training didn’t prepare me for such a steep course but I managed to finish the race in exactly 1 hour. With my medal in hand and water in the other, I joined my friends to head over to the finish line festival. The Firecracker Run had lots of perks: live entertainment, celebrity appearances, goodies, and a BEER GARDEN. 🙂 After joining in the festivities and working up a tiny buzz, we perused through the vendor alley. It was quite a day in Chinatown!

image-2Took a pic with the LA Clippers Cheerleaders 🙂

firecracker 10k medalEarned this super cool snake medal!

Thanks for reading. I hope my adventure have inspired you to step outside and try something new! 
~ AJ

Leave a Reply

